Best way to accept payments for online business?

Rakodoo

Hey, does anyone have recommendations on what to use for someone who is mainly selling small digital items? I'm a DBA selling eBooks on my website at the moment. Trying to avoid fees, especially since transactions are not going to be that big.

Or should I just suck it up and go with paypal since that's what so many people use for online checkouts? Can I get away with charging these to my personal paypal and then manually transferring the funds over to my business bank account (since im a sole proprietor)?

Best way to accept payments for online business Venmo Paypal or other cash apps

Paypal would be the easiest way to accept payments. If you have personal account remember they would not charge fees until $500 not sure anymore.

I would just set up a business account that way you do not have to figure out what amounts are personal or business. You can track the fees and profit so it would be easier. The cash app tax 2022 from the US irs is making all payment companies or payment apps report all accounts that earned over $600 a year.

Websites that accept paypal will have to report the income on their tax forms after $600 and the payment apps like Venmo will report the money you make to irs.

Last edited:
Re: Best way to accept payments for online business Venmo Paypal or other cash apps