Planning a website - Strategy tips

I am just a content writer with 6 months of experience. My TL got impressed with me, and asks me to develop a plan for a new website. I just want to know what are the things I should keep in mind to plan how a website should be? (In general)

In regards to your question, instead of taking credit for the ideas I will post below the link from SearchEngineWatch that goes into detail on some excellent suggestions on some things that needs to be done for a new upcoming website.

Website Launch Checklist: 25 Things to Test Before Your Site Goes Live
Website Launch Checklist: 25 Things to Test Before Your Site Goes Live | SEW

In my opinion, one of the most important things is point number:

16. Tools

Make sure Google Analytics or the analytics package you’re using, and Google and Bing Webmaster Tools are set up and ready to go.

In addition I have another checklist that I have visited from time to time that's more "SEO" oriented but it still has some value.

Launching a New Website: 18 Steps to Successful Metrics & Marketing

Launching a New Website: 18 Steps to Successful Metrics & Marketing - Moz

I hope the site articles above will be helpful and somewhat useful in your website endeavors.

There are several things should be in mind When we are planning to create a website. Some important tips are followed :

Research competitor sites
Define clearly the role your website
Determine your content requirements
Decide on the website platform technology
Conduct user testing
Know your audience - and what they need from your website.
Buttons should be Calls-to-Action
The web site should be Mobile-optimized