Best hosting for personal/business site?

sheryld

Hi! I see that there are many sub-forums here but I'm a noob about hosting so I don't know which applies here, I'm looking for a good web hosting service for a personal blog that's in the making, I've heard great reviews of 1&1 and I will probably go for them because of their site-building features and because they support business pages too (which I might go into sometime in the future but that's not a priority right now). Do you guys have any preferences?

Hostgator and Go Daddy are most popular web hosting & domain registration services provider companies.
I have never tried 1&1 and also not heard it about before.

I have heard of 1&1 but only heard the name, I don't know anything about them. Many hosting companies are good but I know that Hostgator makes it easy for you if you are going to create a self hosted Wordpress blog. They have an automatic install for Wordpress so you are up in minutes. Then once you have Wordpress installed, there are many themes out there to choose from for your design.

If you decide later to add a business page, there are site builders in most hosting companies.

I heard many complaints about the companies that are being mentioned here. The fact that it are large companies doesn't mean that they are better than others. It can even be the opposite. Often smaller hosts provide better services and allow you to customize plans if needed. And they are mostly not more expensive than the big boys. The company that has my preference is being reviewed on the site weloveourhost.com

I would stay away from 1&1 to be honest. 3/3 members have never heard of the hosting site before, so I would suggest hosting websites like Godaddy and Hostgator. They are both very trusted, offer cheap prices, and easy to set up. If you search around for reviews of any two sites, I guarantee you it would most likely be more than 1&1.