Alternative To Photoshop

fiqoques

Can any body know what software is alternative to Adobe Photoshop. I am not a graphic designer by profession but some times times come when i need to touch and edit images slightly. I have not purchased license of Photoshop because its too expensive and also i do not have any significant use of it even i do purchase. I am looking for a software which may be under 100 dollars and is as powerful or at least comparable to Adobe Photoshop.

Also if you know of a complete free ware or for than matter any open source graphic designing tool it would be a great help for me. If you can suggest me more than one tool which can be alternate to Photoshop that would be nice as i can then install all of them on a machine and can see which one is most easiest and suitable for my purposes.

Personally i have used a website which is called FotoFlexer and this website is completely free and you have option of editing your images after you upload them. The main advantage i think with this sort of online photo editing service is that you do not have to install anything on you computer. Fotoflexer also offers dozens of effect and image editing options. If you are looking for something which you can install for free as an alternative to Photoshop than you can also try a open source software called GIMP which will give you many options for editing images.

I am interested on using Adobe photo shop alternative but i only have Mac operating system so please suggest a software for Mac too. I would prefer free ones only as i used designing software only once in a while.